AI coordination group: Impetus for setting the rules of the game for artificial intelligence

© /

In May 2021, the German Federal Ministry of Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi), the German Federal Ministry of Labour and Social Affairs (BMAS) and the German Federal Ministry of Education (BMBF) founded a coordination group for AI standardization and AI conformity (AI coordination group for short) comprised of leading experts from industry, politics, science and civil society.

The group will drive forward the concrete practical implementation of the recommendations from the Standardization Roadmap AI in a targeted manner and bundle and coordinate the work involved. It will act as the main hub for coordination, the exchange of ideas and participation for the entire AI landscape in Germany for aspects of AI relevant to standardization. It replaces the steering group that spearheaded the development of the Roadmap edition 1.

Members of the coordination group

Members from the responsible government ministries

Federal Ministry of Economics and Climate Action

Dr. Daniela Brönstrup

Federal Ministry of Education and Research

Prof. Ina Schieferdecker

Members of technological AI research

German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence

Prof. Antonio Krüger

Fraunhofer IAIS

Prof. Stefan Wrobel

Plattform Lernende Systeme (Platform Learning Systems)

Prof. Wolfgang Wahlster

Members from society and the ethics field

IG Metall

Dr. Detlef Gerst

Superrr Lab

Julia Kloiber

Members from industry and trade assocations


Dr. Wolfgang Hildesheim (IBM)

eco - Association of the Internet Industry

Alexander Rabe

KI Bundesverband (German Association for AI)

Dr. Vanessa Just

ZVEI - Zentralverband Elektrotechnik- und Elektronikindustrie (German Electrical and Electronic Manufacturers’ Association)

Dr. Tobias Heimann

VDMA German Engineering Federation / VDA German Association of the Automotive Industry

Dr. Christoph Peylo (Bosch)

Verband der TÜV (Association of Technical Inspection Agencies)

Dr. Joachim Bühler

German Chamber of Commerce and Industry

Dr. Ilja Nothnagel

Members from standards organizations and bodies

DIN German Institute for Standardization

Christoph Winterhalter

German Commission for Electrical, Electronic & Information Technologies of DIN and VDE

Prof. Dieter Wegener

Permanent guests of the coordination group

Plattform Lernende Systeme (Platform Learning Systems)

Dr. Thomas Schmidt


DIN e. V.
Filiz Elmas

Am DIN-Platz
Burggrafenstraße 6
10787 Berlin

Send message to contact  

More information